Fire Department


In a moment’s notice, the members of the Dassel Volunteer Fire Department (DVFD) are ready to spring into action to help those who need it most.

The DVFD covers 125 square miles, and responds to calls in the cities of Dassel, Darwin, Kingston, as well as the townships of Collinwood, Dassel, Darwin, Ellsworth, and Kingston.

In 2015, the DVFD responded to a total of 228 calls – 23 fires, 164 Rescue EMS, 17 Motor Vehicle/injuries, 7 hazardous conditions, 3 weather, 2 smoke or odor removal, 3 motor vehicle/non-injury, 1 chemical release, 1 extrication from machinery, 8 false alarms, and 14 cancels.

Currently, there are 29 active firefighters, with room on the roster for 30. Those interested in becoming a volunteer firefighter should contact the fire station at (320) 275-3260.

The Dassel Fire Relief Association hosts two annual events to fundraise for the department – these are mainly used for pensions, equipment, and upgrades.A french toast breakfast is held annually in May, while a pork chop dinner is held annually during National Fire Prevention Week in October.

The Department also sends out calendars to its fire district and received $12,500 in donations (from the calendars) in 2015. This money goes towards upgrading equipment.

In the past year, the DVFD has been able to acquire new boots for all members and new lightbars thanks to the various fundraisers and donations.

Those who wish to donate to the Relief Association can do so by sending a check to the DVFD at PO Box 56, Dassel, MN 55325. The fire station’s phone number is (320) 275-3260. In cases of emergency, please dial 911. The fire station’s e-mail is

Dassel Volunteer Fire Department Roster

Chief – Dave Johnson

Asst. Chief – Mike Enerson

Captain – Dale Grochow

Asst. Cap. – Brian Massingham

Lieutenant – Andy Nelson

Training Officer – Jeffrey Putnam

Safety Officer – Kurt Mortenson

Truck Driver – Ron Rauschendorfer

Jose Almazan

Douglas Bollman (reserve)

Brian Bondhus

Kevin Carlen

Keith Day

Matthew Doughty

Brian Gillman

Jason Harris

Caleb Herzog

Zach Holm

Jim Hughs

Justin Johnson

Mike Kadelbach

Greg Nelson

Lyle Nybakke

Josh Pelant

Scott Steuck

Mike Sylvester

Jon Trotter

Tom Weseloh

Justin Yager